First Managing Committee of SNDP Yogam

The first Managing Committee consisted of Sree Narayana Guru (Permanent chairman), Dr. Palpu (Vice Chairman), N. Kumaranasan (General Secretary), Mattancheri Govindan Vaidyar, B. Kochujutti Muthalai (Muttathara), Mangalasseri Govindan Channar, Perinad Govindanasan, P. Madhavan Vaidyar, Thiruvananthapuram, Paravur Kesavanasan, Kottaikkal Kumaran, Madan Neyyattinkara, S. Krishnan, Korothuparambu, Peringottukara, Koyikkara Kochayyyan Channar and Kuttiyappi Asan, Kurichithottatha, Karichal.

After 15 months of the registration of the SNDP Yogam, on Malayalam year 1080 Kanni 21 (1904), under the leadership of Paravoor V. Kesavanasan, an Ezhava Mahasammelanam was convened at Paravur, Kollam. It was in that meeting that the decision to stop the ill practices of talikettu, thirandukuli, Pulikudi etc. which were leading Ezhava Community into social and economic decline, had taken. Further, the decision to start practicing new marriage ceremony was also taken according to the order of Gurudeva.

The second annual of Yogam was conducted in Kollam on 1080 Dhanu 24 and 25 (1905). A public exhibition (10 days) conducted as part of the Annual caused the rise of self-pride and confidence in Ezhavas. The desire of upper castes to suppress them led to the Nair-Ezhava riot. The riot spread strongly towards northern parts like Paravur and Kollam. The rioters set fire to Kerala Bhushanam Publishing Company and Sujananandini Newspaper Office, both owned by Paravur Kesavanasan.

By the time of 3 years of its establishment, SNDP Yogam was able to get the attention of both the Government and the public. In Travancore, it was not just a Communal organization; rather, it was a political organization . The relentless attempts of Kumaranasan, the General Secretary, were behind it. When he retired after his 15 years service as General Secretary, SNDP Yogam had 1783 members (Rs.25) and 2472 shares. At that time, Yogam was not a common people’s organization. Because one had to pay Rs.25/-to get a share of the organisation. Due to his 15 years of restless works, all schools were open to backward classes and, even though on condition of nomination, they were permitted to enter into the Sabha.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *