Category: SNDP Yogam

Vice President- thushar vellappally- SNDP Yogam 0

Vice President- SNDP Yogam

Sree Thushar Vellappally is one of the upcoming leaders of SNDP Yogam. Presently he is the Vice- President of SNDP Yogam and took the charges of Youth movement. He did major activities to co-ordinate the...

M N Soman- president sndp yogam 0

President – SNDP Yogam

Sree M M Soman is the president of SNDP Yogam and the Chairman of SN Trust. Before this great position in SNDP Yogam, Dr. M N Soman was famous by his profession. He is a...

general secreatry - sndp yogam 1

General Secretary – SNDP Yogam

Shri. Vellapally Natesan is the General Secretary of the Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana (SNDP) Yogam, the social organisation of millions of Ezhavas in Kerala. He hails from kanichukulngara, Alappuzha district of Kerala . He played...


First Managing Committee of SNDP Yogam

The first Managing Committee consisted of Sree Narayana Guru (Permanent chairman), Dr. Palpu (Vice Chairman), N. Kumaranasan (General Secretary), Mattancheri Govindan Vaidyar, B. Kochujutti Muthalai (Muttathara), Mangalasseri Govindan Channar, Perinad Govindanasan, P. Madhavan Vaidyar, Thiruvananthapuram, Paravur Kesavanasan, Kottaikkal Kumaran, Madan Neyyattinkara, S. Krishnan, Korothuparambu, Peringottukara, Koyikkara Kochayyyan Channar and Kuttiyappi Asan, Kurichithottatha, Karichal.

After 15 months of the registration of the SNDP Yogam, on Malayalam year 1080 Kanni 21 (1904), under the leadership of Paravoor V. Kesavanasan, an Ezhava Mahasammelanam was convened at Paravur, Kollam. It was in that meeting that the decision to stop the ill practices of talikettu, thirandukuli, Pulikudi etc. which were leading Ezhava Community into social and economic decline, had taken. Further, the decision to start practicing new marriage ceremony was also taken according to the order of Gurudeva.



First President- Sree Narayana Guru Vice-President- Dr. Palppu General  Secretary- Mahakavi N Kumaranashan SNDP Yogam first managing committee members are: (1) Mattanchery Govindan vaidyan, (2) B kochukutty Muthalali(muttuthura) (3) Kozhipuzha Kochuayyan Channar (4) S Krishnan...


History of SNDP Yogam

History of SNDP Yogam

The history of Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana Yogam is the rise of the socially backward, depressed classes in Kerala. It is the social development of Ezhava from (according to the 824 Royal Order) mere ‘owner of thalappu and ladder” to the present state. It is also the shining story of the change of an almost food-gathering society into a cosmopolitan world order. Yogam is the first organisation which envizaged Kerala as a whole. Earlier organisations represented only part of Kerala, say, Malabar.

Caste system in Kerala

During the 1890’s the caste system in Kerala was very rigid, with untouchablility. Dr. Palpu started works towards getting the rights of Ezhava community. With the 1891 Malayali Memorial Revolt, he came forward by taking the leadership of the community. He tried to make an organization called ‘Ezhava Sabha’. In 1896, he created the bye-law of it and published the same in Malayali, a newspaper published from Thankussery. Even though he organised some meetings at Paravur and Mayyanad, that movement failed.


SNDP Yogam – After Sree Narayana Guru

SNDP Yogam – After Sree Narayana Guru

In 1104 Kanni 5, (1929), Guru passed away. In 1928 May 26, General Secretary C.V. Kunhiraman has submitted a memorandum to the authorities describing the disabilities of Ezhavas and stressing the need to give communal representation. The annual meeting of Yoga in 1932 June 29 demanded maturity voting right. In the meeting n 1932, December 17, at LMS Hall, Thiruvananthapuram where about one hundred people representing Christians, Muslims and Ezhavas created ‘Akhila Thiruvithamcore Samyukta Rashtriya Mahasabha’ and submitted a memorandum to Diwanji, demanding reservation for population wise representation in legislation and election through public areas. SNDP Yogam had a great representation in the revolt. The LMS meeting saved the seeds of a great turning point in Travancore history.

On August 27, 1933, Sri. C. Kesavan had unanimously been elected as the Yogam General Secretary. At that time, according to his annual report, the total government jobs were 20,278 out of which only 787 were represented by Ezhavas who consisted a population of 8,72,174 while Nairs who had a population of 8,68,411 possessed 10,585 jobs. In 1935, Sri C. Kesavan was arrested and imprisoned charging traitorousness on the basis of Kozhancheri oratory. In 1936 October 8, Sri C.P. Ramaswami Iyer had taken charge of Diwan and on November 12, he published a decree permitting all Hindus to enter in the temples.


SNDP Yogam Membership

എസ്. എന്‍ .ഡി .പി .യോഗം , കമ്പനി ആക്റ്റ് പ്രകാരം രജിസ്റ്റര്‍ ചെയ്ത ഒരു പ്രസ്ഥാനം ആണ് . ആ കമ്പനിയുടെ , ആദ്യത്തെ , ഓഹരി വില നൂറു ബ്രിട്ടീഷ് രൂപ ആയിരുന്നു . യോഗത്തിന്റെ പതിനാറാം വാര്‍ഷികം വരെ യുള്ള ഓഹരി ഉടമകള്‍ ആകെ1783...


SNDP Yogam

Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana Yogam (SNDP Yogam) is an organisation formed to propagate and promote Dharma of Sree Narayana Guru. Dr. P. Palpu, a devotee of Sree Narayana Guru, reformed the vaoottu yogam to SNDP...